One-way Ticket

The Sunday after Christmas, Eka, Eu, and I went to Letran to visit our 1st year high school adviser’s wake. Until now, I still find it hard to believe that she’s already gone. I am unable to accept that someone so full of hope and life is now gone, just like that. I found it hard to take my eyes off of her, at some point I believed that she would actually open her eyes and tell us that it’s all just a joke. I tried to memorize her every feature–I stared hard. Really hard. She really looked different from behind the glass. I wanted to scold those who fixed her for not doing a damn good job on my teacher. Her baby hair was all over her face, her cheeks seemed too stuffed, her dress was off, her makeup was caking–I focused on the tiniest details just to keep my mind off the truth. She’s gone for good. Her one-way ticket came much too soon.

Leave a Reply

